The founding mothers of Sigma Theta Psi created the sorority on November 13, 1991 at San Jose State University to fill a void of multicultural awareness on their campus. They sought to create a sisterhood that would embrace and celebrate cultural diversity, and that was rooted in the shared principles of respect, honesty, open-mindedness, loyalty, leadership, and academic excellence

Founding Mothers

Lourdes Andrade

Isabel Arias

Blanca De La Torre

Beatrice Gomez

Maria Gonzalez

Carmen Guzman

Laura Cruz-Hernandez

Tammy Loredo

Laura Martinez

Evangelina Moran

Karina Murcia

Ruby Nieto 

Augustina Pedroza

Lupe Pedroza

Shemar Pierce

Cecilia Ramos

Guadalupe Rojas

Liz Vasquez


Our chapter was founded by seven remarkable women who saw the need for a sorority at their college campus that would wholeheartedly embrace cultural and ethnic diversity. They established the Eta Chapter of Sigma Theta Psi on June 7th, 2003.

Founding Sisters

Erika Ayala

Elva Esparza

Cynthia Guerrero

Kara Heist

Natalia Londono

Alam Perez-Alexander

Lili Perez-Benavidez

These ladies are known as our founding sisters, and are credited for establishing the first multicultural sorority in the state of Nevada. Eta Chapter was Sigma Theta Psi's first chapter outside the state of California, making Sigma Theta Psi a national sorority. During the 06-07 academic year, Eta Chapter alongside Sigma Delta Alpha, Kappa Delta Chi, and Omega Delta Phi, established the Multicultural Greek Council (MGC) at UNLV.